Jogjakarta – Indonesia: Borobudur & Prambanan Temple

Living in Indonesia doesn’t mean that I am familiar with most region in Indonesia. What a shame. Therefore I promised to myself that I will travel more domestically to know my country better. Earlier this year I went to Jogjakarta, Central Java, Indonesia for a 2 nights visit, not long enough to explore the province but I covered 2 main attractions that I originally wanted to visit: Borobudur and Prambanan Temple or in Bahasa Indonesia we call them Candi Borobudur and Candi Prambanan.

Borobudur Temple (Candi) was built in 9th century. It is a Buddhist Temple located in Magelang, Central Java, Indonesia. The monument consists of six square platforms topped by three circular platforms, and is decorated with 2,672 relief panels and 504 Buddha statues.[1] A main dome, located at the center of the top platform, is surrounded by 72 Buddha statues seated inside a perforated stupa. More info here.

Here are some photos that I took during my trip there, since I got there midday, most of my photos where over exposure, so I think I’ll present them in black and white.

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

Candi Borobudur

The second temple I visited was Candi Prambanan or also called Candi Rara Jonggrang. It was also built in the 9th Century, but it is a Hindu Temple. Located about 40 minutes away from Candi Borobudur.
The temple compound which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is the largest Hindu temple site in Indonesia, and one of the biggest in Southeast Asia. It is characterized by its tall and pointed architecture, typical of Hindu temple architecture, and by the towering 47-metre-high (154 ft) central building inside a large complex of individual temples. More info about Candi Prambanan here.

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Candi Prambanan

Source credit:

8 thoughts on “Jogjakarta – Indonesia: Borobudur & Prambanan Temple

  1. Pingback: Candi Prambanan | My Blog

    • Hi Tine, thank you for stopping by and commented on the post, and sorry for the late reply. I saw on your “about me” that you learn Indonesian? Cool. how is it going? If you need someone to practice with I can help 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Quick Note for Other Fellow Travellers | I Spy with My Little Eyes

Your comments here will make my day.

